Margo's World with Leadership In Educational Technology

An adventure of leading and learning technology simultaneously

Philosophy of Adaptation

on November 17, 2013

Philosophy of Adaptation
1. My motto for creating 21st Century Learners.
JUST KEEP SWIMMING
I have used this motto since the movie Finding Nemo came out. It works for multiple purposes for myself and others I support, coach, and lead. To teach means to be busy. To use technology means to be flexible and responsive to its uses. Just keep swimming reminds me that there will always be something new to learn and apply while I maintain and change what I have implemented currently. I am committed and excited to use technology to enhance the education of children and adults. Every year I introduce more high and low tech into my educational programs. I read, implement, adjust, and throw out on a continuous motion. I work together with other teachers do the same. We just keep swimming. We never stop.

2. How do I adapt to change in my environment?
Technology is a tool to enhance education. As teachers facilitate a child’s educational journey; technology provides multiple ways to reach their individual level of skill and unique way of learning. It opened the door to new methods of educational delivery not available in the past. Educational interactive online websites and apps are highly useful for students to practice as much as they need for any academic skill with immediate consistent feedback Academic instructional videos are available to preteach, teach, and reteach just about any skill. Cooperative learning may be enhanced with the use of any technology. Technology changes and grows everyday and new and more tools are available on a daily bases. I have an assortment of technology today in my classroom. I predict in five years my classroom will look completely different.
I am excited to use technology as a tool in my classroom. Every piece I use provides me greater access to children’s ability to learn. I use low tech to high tech as I see fit in order to meet a student’s growth with their education. Technology today frees me to work with an individual or small group while other students use an app or website to practice a skill that will give them immediate feedback. Students are able to view educational videos at home or school in order to learn or relearn a concept. I use the flipped classroom approach at times in order for students to take control of their learning and for me to have more time applying and practicing the skills they are learning. The use of technology allows me to implement tacit knowledge in order to personalize learning, increase motivation, collaboration, and pro-social behavior, and student efficiency and productivity. My classroom is a flurry of the educational movement as students take charge of their learning.

3. How do I support my students in adapting to change?
The most effective method I use to support students with technology is to give them the technology and get out of their way. I facilitate the educational goal for them and provide the structure. The students learn so much faster than I can teach. The introduction of moviemake is a prime example. I began with formal instruction and quickly went to letting the kids get with the program and play. I then gave the structure from Jason Ohler’s book Digital Storytelling in the Classroom to guide the student building of their story. The kids came in on their recess to do this project. It is a good example of tacit learning. However, only the students interested came in to do the project. I also read and research on a constant basis to keep up with the changes of technology and provide the new information for them to implement. As technology such as iphones and kindles are used I predict students will be sharing with me what is new and fresh to try.

References
Burgess, Dave (2012) Dave Burgess Consulting, Inc. San Diego, Ca Teach Like a Pirate
Carl Straumsheim, (April 8, 2013). Digital Research, Not Teaching.Retrieved from the Inside HigherEd website:
http://www.insidehighered.com/news/2013/04/08/study-shows-gap-between-research-use-classroom-adoption-technology
Douglas Thomas and John Seely Brown. (2011) Design Soulellis Sudio. A New Culture of Learning Cultivating the Imagination for a World of Constant Change.
Eddie Makuch on November 14, 2013. Jimmy Fallon and Ice-T play PS4 on late night TV.Retrieved on he GameSpot website:
http://www.gamespot.com/articles/jimmy-fallon-and-ice-t-play-ps4-on-late-night-tv/1100-6416179/
Ohler, Jason. (2008) Corwin Press Digital Storytelling in the Classroom
ROBINSON MEYER (SEP 13 2013). The Post-Lecture Classroom: How Will Students Fare?. Retrieved from The Atlantic website: http://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2013/09/the-post-lecture-classroom-how-will-students-fare/279663/

Tina Barseghian | October 11, 2013 |. Surveys Synthesized: What Are Teachers’ Attitudes About Classroom Technology?. Retrieved from the MindShift website:
http://blogs.kqed.org/mindshift/2013/10/surveys-synthesized-what-are-teachers-attitudes-about-classroom-technology/

2 responses to “Philosophy of Adaptation

  1. Hi Margo. I like your motto because it embodies how you have to keep going with the changes and always working with them. Another thing I liked about your philosophy was that it focused on how you use technology to help you and your students adjust to change. Your statement that your classroom will look very different 5 years from now is wise. I think of how many different ways my classroom has gone through changes over the years. I wish I had the forethought to have taken pictures of it and myself over the years. It would be fun (and nostalgic) to look back through them. 🙂

    Some suggestions (which you do not have to use) in your paper: Would it be breaking copyright laws if you put in a picture of Dory from “Finding Nemo”? That would be cute to have a visual to accompany your motto. Do you have to put movie credits in your resources for “Finding Nemo”? Have you thought about inserting the Jimmy Fallon video in the paper? Can you insert some of your resources or quotes from your resources into the paper to support your ideas? Also, you may want to check the font size of your references. They are not all the same size, and you may need to alphabetize them. I only saw a couple of typos: the word “immediate” in the second paragraph of part 2, italicize title of Jason’s book, and “MovieMaker” in the last paragraph.

    I like that your philosophy mirrors your classroom – very dynamic and you are always flexible to adapting to change.

    • Heather says:

      GOOD: I really like your motto of just keep swimming. You put it well when you said, “To teach means to be busy. To use technology means to be flexible and responsive to its uses.” I also think it is wonderful that you give the students the technology and then get out of their way.

      Questions: As you get out of your students’ way after giving them the technology, what do you do when they are struggling? Do you jump in and help, or do you let them struggle and try for a little while? What do you do when a student is not interested in the technology you want them to use?

      Suggestions: Keep with it. You always have wonderful ideas, and I enjoy reading them. I hope you keep up with this blog, and put some of your idea on here.

Leave a Reply

